Metro Line 14 -

1/27

Metro Line 14

Paris, Saint-Ouen

2012 – 2021

4 new metro stations for line 14
Pont Cardinet (4000 m²), Porte de Clichy (9000 m²), Saint-Ouen (5000 m²), Mairie de Saint-Ouen (7000 m²).
Complete mission
Client RATP
Size 25.000 m² / 68.5 M€ht
BET SYSTRA / BMF / Aartill
EcoAcoustics
Eco-design labels.

The main objective of the northern extension of line 14 was to relieve the saturation of line 13. It comprises 4 stations, Pont Cardinet, Porte de Clichy, St Ouen, Mairie de St Ouen and 5.8km of tunnel track. It serves the Clichy-Batignolles urban development zone, the town of Clichy and the town of St Ouen, i.e. an additional 96,000 inhabitants. The Porte de Clichy station, located at the foot of the new Paris law courts, is emblematic of this extension and provides connections with the RER C and line 13. The 4-station project was built in a dense urban environment. The presence of existing structures, both on the outskirts and above, required a shared design and activity of the construction sites.

The stations are designed as large volumes crossed by their structures and free of cladding. The layout of the halls allows the public to feel the sense of walking towards the metro trains, despite the spectacular scale of the spaces. All the elements of the metro contribute to highlighting the central nave, which responds to the symmetry of the incoming/outgoing flows of passengers. Floors and walls have been designed for intensive use and easy maintenance. Some of the themes of the historic 14, such as the distribution of the platforms by a “spider” system, the staging of the direct and indirect lighting lines and the renewal of the arches for the landing doors, are found in the new project as input data. The project meets the RATP’s objectives: efficiency, modernity, and scalability. Ease of use, compliance with standards, and the feeling of safety felt by passengers during their journey, are elements that cut across all four stations. All the attention is focused on the human being as a passenger and maintainer of the structure. The “metropolitan identity” – bevelled tiles and arches – is taken up. Distributed in small touches throughout the monumental space, the texture of the materials is highlighted by the disciplined geometry of the forms and the contrasts between concrete, earthenware, and stainless steel. Stripped and detailed, the materiality of the walls is a white screen which shows the moving silhouettes.

The structural principle is based on vertical moulded walls, stabilised by buttresses and horizontal slabs. The walls were poured first, then the earth was dug to create volumes 30m high, 130m long and about 22m wide. The great depth, the main constraint of the project, was structuring for the positioning of the vertical circulations. Relatively bare, the large spaces were organised and designed on rational principles of simplicity and robustness.

AZC Contractor – ARCHITRAM partner
The AZC design team was led by Gwenäel Loubes, with Alba Bui, Beatriz Gago Roncero, Nicolas Berdon, Petr Kalivoda, Radu Ungureanu, Roland Oberhofer; the site team was led by Jeremias Lorch and Margot Carrier with Daniel Corso, Michele Ciervo, Adrien Fournier, Carol Fanjul, Romain Mathey, Eric Pitalieri, Theophilos Zachos.

Métro Ligne 14 -

1/27

Métro Ligne 14

Paris, Saint-Ouen

2012 – 2021

4 nouvelles stations de métro pour la ligne 14
Pont Cardinet (4000 m²), Porte de Clichy (9000 m²), Saint-Ouen (5000 m²), Mairie de Saint-Ouen (7000 m²).
Mission complète
Client RATP
Taille 25.000 m² / 68.5 M€ht
BET SYSTRA / BMF / Aartill
EcoAcoustique
Labels Eco-Conception.

L’extension Nord de la ligne 14 avait pour principal objectif la désaturation de la ligne 13. Elle comporte 4 stations, Pont Cardinet, Porte de Clichy, St Ouen, Mairie de St Ouen et 5,8km de voies en tunnel. Elle dessert la ZAC Clichy-Batignolles, la ville de Clichy et celle de St Ouen, soit 96 000 habitants de plus. Située au pied du nouveau tribunal judiciaire de Paris la station Porte de Clichy, emblématique de cette extension, assure la correspondance avec le RER C et la ligne 13. Le projet des 4 stations, s’est construit en milieu urbain dense. La présence d’ouvrages tiers, aux abords et au-dessus, a nécessité une conception et une activité partagées, des chantiers.

Les stations sont conçues comme des grands volumes traversés par leurs structures et exempts d’habillages. Le projet d’aménagement du parcours, permet de faire ressentir au public, le sens de la marche vers les rames de métro, malgré l’échelle spectaculaire des espaces. Tous les éléments constitutifs du métro, participent à mettre en exergue la nef centrale, qui répond à la symétrie des flux entrants/sortants des voyageurs. Sols et murs ont été conçus pour un usage intensif et un entretien facile. Certaines thématiques de la 14 historique, comme la distribution des quais par un système en « araignée », la mise en scène des lignes d’éclairage direct et indirect et la reconduction des arceaux pour les portes palières, se retrouvent dans le nouveau projet comme données d’entrée. Le projet répond aux objectifs de la RATP : efficacité, modernité, évolutivité. La facilité d’intervention, le respect des normes, mais aussi le sentiment de sécurité ressenti par le voyageur pendant son trajet, sont des éléments transversaux aux 4 stations. Toute l’attention est portée sur l’humain en tant que voyageur et mainteneur de l’ouvrage. « L’identité métropolitaine » – carreaux biseautés et voûtes – est reprise. Distribuée par des petites touches dans l’espace monumental, la texture des matériaux est mise en valeur par la géométrie disciplinée des formes et les contrastes entre le béton, les faïences et l’inox. Dépouillée et détaillée, la matérialité des parois est un plan neutre sur lequel se projettent les silhouettes en mouvement.

Le principe structurel repose sur des parois moulées verticales, stabilisées par des butons et des dalles horizontales. Les parois ont été coulées en premier puis la terre creusée pour réaliser des volumes hauts de 30m, longs de 130m et larges d’environ 22m. La grande profondeur, contrainte principale du projet, a été structurante pour le positionnement des circulations verticales. Relativement nus, les grands espaces ont été organisés et conçus sur des principes rationnels de simplicité et de robustesse.

AZC Mandataire – ARCHITRAM associé
L’équipe d’études AZC a été conduite par Gwenäel Loubes, avec Alba Bui, Beatriz Gago Roncero, Nicolas Berdon, Petr Kalivoda, Radu Ungureanu, Roland Oberhofer; l’équipe de chantier a été conduite par Jeremias Lorch puis Margot Carrier avec Daniel Corso, Michele Ciervo, Adrien Fournier, Carol Fanjul, Romain Mathey, Eric Pitalieri, Theophilos Zachos.